Auditions just happen; you just go with that authentic excitement that you get when doing something for the first time. My first time was the dancers’ audition for “Natasha Pierre and The Great Comet of 1812”, and it went wonderfully.

As my first audition, I felt like I wanted to do everything “by the book”. However, since there is no book, I had to let reality unfold itself, and watch patiently how the day would turn out. I came in at 07:15 AM to sign my name on the unofficial non-equity list. I was the fifth on the list, so waking up early in the morning had made it totally worth my while; if they were going to see non-equity dancers today – I would most probably get to be seen.

Nevertheless, when I saw the unofficial list someone had made on a piece of paper, it read non-equity SINGERS. I debated whether I should scratch the  “Singers” and replace it with “Dancers” – but then again, maybe it was I who was wrong. I didn’t know what to do – it was my bloody first time in a Broadway audition, so I just signed my name on the singers’ list and then posted a message on the online audition bulletin board – Auditionupade.com, asking if anyone else had noticed this. After a while I got a response from someone who said he’d copied the singers’ list on to a new piece of paper and put “Dancers” in the title this time, keeping the order of the names as they were on the old list. Luckily, there is still hope for the humans of show business, and it’s always good to ask.

I used the spare time between signing up early in the morning and checking back  in at 2:00, to take a beginners’ ballet class. I took the beginners’ class because I hadn’t taken class for a while and wanted to take it easy on my body, and because going back to the basics is always a good things. Apparently there was a third reason which I wasn’t aware of at first, but after the teacher had me demonstrate time and again – I thought it was a great idea to come to this class specifically, so that I could get good warm up for my self-confidence.

When I went back to the audition studio at 2:00 PM, I found all the equity queens lunging and stretching, and knew it was time for me to play the waiting game. If the auditioning team finished seeing all the queens, ahead of time, that would mean the non-equity sub-humans would be seen as well. After an hour of waiting, which isn’t that long at all, the time had come to shine.

We were taught a combination from the show, involving a lot of classical East-European folk dancing, so it was a very aerobic experience and it went very well. Unfortunately, they said they weren’t currently hiring any dancers, but rather looking for possible replacements, so they weren’t even going to going to do a cut or hear any of us sing later.

In the aftermath, I got very lucky having this as my first Broadway audition; A running show on Broadway, being seen so easily, and feeling really good about the way I danced, without even having to face any answers. I couldn’t I have asked for anything better.

